Diplomatic missions



Australia and Oceania


North America

South America

UN Sanctions

The Security Council can take action to maintain or restore international peace and security under Chapter VII of the United Nations Charter. Sanctions measures, under Article 41, encompass a broad range of enforcement options that do not involve the use of armed force. Since 1966, the Security Council has established 30 sanctions regimes, in Southern Rhodesia, South Africa, the former Yugoslavia (2), Haiti, Iraq (2), Angola, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia and Eritrea, Eritrea and Ethiopia, Liberia (3), DRC, Côte d’Ivoire, Sudan, Lebanon, DPRK, Iran, Libya (2), Guinea-Bissau, CAR, Yemen, South Sudan and Mali, as well as against ISIL (Da'esh) and Al-Qaida and the Taliban.

Security Council sanctions have taken a number of different forms, in pursuit of a variety of goals. The measures have ranged from comprehensive economic and trade sanctions to more targeted measures such as arms embargoes, travel bans, and financial or commodity restrictions. The Security Council has applied sanctions to support peaceful transitions, deter non-constitutional changes, constrain terrorism, protect human rights and promote non-proliferation.

Sanctions do not operate, succeed or fail in a vacuum. The measures are most effective at maintaining or restoring international peace and security when applied as part of a comprehensive strategy encompassing peacekeeping, peacebuilding and peacemaking. Contrary to the assumption that sanctions are punitive, many regimes are designed to support governments and regions working towards peaceful transition. The Libyan and Guinea-Bissau sanctions regimes all exemplify this approach.

Тhere are 14 ongoing sanctions regimes which focus on supporting political settlement of conflicts, nuclear non-proliferation, and counter-terrorism. Each regime is administered by a sanctions committee chaired by a non-permanent member of the Security Council. There are 10 monitoring groups, teams and panels that support the work of 11 of the 14 sanctions committees.

The Council applies sanctions with ever-increasing cognisance of the rights of those targeted. In the 2005 World Summit declaration, the General Assembly called on the Security Council, with the support of the Secretary-General, to ensure that fair and clear procedures are in place for the imposition and lifting of sanctions measures. The establishment of a focal point for de-listing, and the Office of the Ombudsperson to the ISIL (Da'esh) & Al-Qaida Sanctions Committee are examples of this approach in practice.

Information on UN sanctions currently in force:

The Consolidated List includes all individuals and entities subject to measures imposed by the Security Council. The inclusion of all names on one Consolidated List is to facilitate the implementation of the measures, and neither implies that all names are listed under one regime, nor that the criteria for listing specific names are the same. For each instance where the Security Council has decided to impose measures in response to a threat, a Security Council Committee manages the sanctions regime. Each sanctions committee established by the United Nations Security Council therefore publishes the names of individuals and entities listed in relation to that committee as well as information concerning the specific measures that apply to each listed name.

The competent authorities in Bulgaria for implementing restrictive measures (sanctions) regarding third countries

With regards to deliveries and sells of dual-use goods, weaponry, and military materials:
Ministry of Economy
Interministerial Commission for Export Control and Non-Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction
8, Slavyanska Str., Sofia 1052, Bulgaria
tel.: +359 2 9407771 (7681)
fax: +359 2 9880727

With regards to financial sanctions, travel restrictions, antiproliferation:

State Agency for National Security
45 “Cherni Vrah” Blvd.
1407 Sofia
fax: (02) 963 21 88
fax: (02) 814 74 41
[email protected]

With regards to travel restrictions:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Bulgaria
Aleksander Zhendov str. 2
1040 Sofia
National Visa Center
Tel.: +359 2 948 23 65
Fax.: +359 2 971 28 42
[email protected]

With regards to customs control:

Ministry of Finance
Customs Agency
G, S. Rakovsky Str. 47
1202 Sofia
Tel.: +359 2 9859 4210; 2 9859 4213

Restrictions in transport – sea and air transport:

Ministry of Transport, Information Technology, and Communication
Agency ‘Maritime Administration’
"Dyakon Ignatiy" 9
1000, Sofia
Tel.: +359 2 930 03 10
Fax: +359 2 930 03 20

Ministry of Transport, Information Technology, and Communication
Directorate General ‘Civil Aviation Administration’
"Dyakon Ignatiy" 9
1000, Sofia
Tel.: +359 2 930 10 47
Fax: +359 2 980 53 37

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More