Diplomatic missions



Australia and Oceania


North America

South America

USA, New York, Permanent Representation of the Republic of Bulgaria to the UN

Bulgaria was elected a member of the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

18 June 2020 News

On June 17 Bulgaria was elected a member of the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). Bulgaria's mandate in ECOSOC will last three years and will start on January 1, 2021.
ЕCOSOC is one of the six main organs of the United Nations, with a leading role in advancing the three dimensions of sustainable development - economic, social and environmental. It comprises 54 UN Member States and is renewed each year through the election of 18 new members.

In the elections on June 17, Bulgaria received 186 votes in favor for its candidature, which is the fourth highest result, together with Indonesia, out of all 18 newly elected members.
During its campaign, Bulgaria stressed the great importance of ECOSOC as a major UN platform for reflection, debate and innovative thinking on sustainable development. During its tenure, Bulgaria is committed to contribute to the rationalization of the work of ECOSOC and to sustainable solutions to achieve the UN Sustainable Development Goals by 2030.
Portugal, France, Austria, Germany, the United Kingdom, Nigeria, Liberia, Madagascar, Libya, Zimbabwe, Solomon Islands, Indonesia, Japan, Argentina, Guatemala, Mexico and Bolivia were also elected members of ECOSOC.

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More